Re-Create a Famous Photo

We were challenged to re-create a famous photo. I chose to re-create the picture of Anne Frank in her last year of primary school in about 1940. My Daughter just started her first year of High School and would be a similar age to Anne, so I chose her to help me re-create this image. (Image is taken from Anne Frank House Official Instagram Page)

I think the original photo is famous because Anne Frank’s journal is one of the most-read books in the world, and there are not many photos of her, so most of the photos of her you have probably seen.

The elements of visual design that I wanted to take into account while preparing for this photo were the color and the placement of the subject in the photograph. I tried to capture Anne’s look and the setting she was in.

One key thing I learned from this photo is that the shot is better when the camera is at eye level of the subject. It is something I can do to make my pictures better. I love that someone took the time to take a picture of Anne. Photographs form such an essential part of our history. I’m grateful for those who capture the everyday moments.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started